EPA Certification – Section 608 Guide & Workbook


Our EPA 608 Certification book includes everything you need to study and pass the EPA 608 license exam. This certification is required for anyone handling refrigerants under section 608 of the Clean Air Act, including any technician or repair service provider that works on stationary air conditioners or refrigeration systems. Please see below for more information on EPA 608 certification, exam preparation and who this book benefits. Get started on your certification today.

Technician's Guide & Workbook for EPA 608


This package includes all of these items:

  • Technician's Guide & Workbook for EPA 608


Book Overview

This Guide and Workbook provides information to aid you in your efforts to become certified under the refrigerant recovery and recycling program of the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). This book is designed for technicians who already have a working knowledge of the trade and wish to become EPA certified. To fully expose you to everything on the test, you must read this book cover to cover.

Requirements To Complete

About This License

There are four types of EPA certification: Type I, Type II, TYPE III, and Universal Certification.

Type I Certification (Small Appliances) – This certification covers manufactured, charged, and hermetically sealed appliances with five pounds or less of refrigerant.

Type II Certification (High Pressure and Very High Pressure Appliances) – High Pressure appliances use refrigerant with a boiling point between -58°F and 50°F.  High Pressure refrigerants include 12, 22, 114, 500, and 502.  Very High Pressure appliances use refrigerant with a boiling point below -50°F.  Very High Pressure refrigerants include 13 and 503.

Type III Certification (Low Pressure Appliances) – Low Pressure appliances use refrigerant with a boiling point above 50°F.  Some refrigerants included under this classification are 11, 113, and 123.

Universal Certification – An Universal Certification can be obtained and a candidate passes the certification exams for Type I, Type II, and Type III.

To become certified, technicians must pass a test demonstrating proper handling of ozone depleting refrigerants and knowledge of EPA refrigerant regulations.

Requirements to Obtaining Your License

To work on stationary air conditioners and refrigeration systems, you must be certified under Section 608 of the Clean Air Act.  Please note that the purchase R-410a and R-134a do not require EPA certification as they do not have any ozone depleting substances. To get EPA certified, contact your local refrigerant supplier.

Applying For Your License

To get EPA certified, contact your local refrigerant supplier.

608 Certification

As of this time, we do not offer any training for 608 Certification. We do stock references that can be used to prepare for the exam. Please click the link below for training/testing info.


Lead – Safe

As of this time, we do not offer any training or services for Lead-Safe Certification. Please click the link below for all of the information that you will need.


Student Reviews

There are no contributions yet.

  • Your personal data will be used to support your experience throughout this website, to manage access to your account, and for other purposes described in our privacy policy.

Continue as a Guest

Don't have an account? Sign Up