Obtain Your License

Pursuing a career in the Construction field? Study at home for your California Construction license exam with our fully online, user-friendly, and self-paced course.


  • California Law and Business Exam Prep


    Student’s enrolled in the Law and Business course will receive the following items: Online Practice Tests, Law and Business Manual, Audio/Video Streaming Lectures, Law and Business Practice Exams, Law and Business Computer-Assisted Practice Tests.

    View Product
  • California Law and Business Exam Prep (Preparación para el examen de leyes y negocios de California)


    Los estudiantes inscritos en el curso de Leyes y Negocios recibirán lo siguiente: exámenes de práctica en línea, manual acerca de Leyes y Negocios, conferencias de transmisión de audio/video, exámenes de práctica acerca de Leyes y Negocios, exámenes de práctica asistidos por computadora acerca de Leyes y Negocios.

    View Product

Requirements To Complete

Requirements to Obtaining Your License

  • contractor’s license in California is required for projects that exceed $500.
  • To become a licensed contractor, candidates will have to sit for two exams: law and business; and their trade.
  • Pre-approval from the state is required to sit for the examination.

Exam Details

  • The California Law and Business Exam has approximately 100 questions and a time limit of 2 and 1/2 hours.
  • A 72% is required to pass.
  • Topics on the exam include company start-up procedures; human resources; general business requirements; insurance and bonds; pre-contract considerations; proposals and contracts; contract compliance; public works; safety; and legal.
  • The exam fee is included with the $300 application fee.
  • After the board has approved your application, they will inform you of the testing date.

Books and References for the Exam

All exams in California are closed book.

How It Works


Obtain pre-approval from the state (if applicable).


Purchase Exam Prep materials.


Schedule and pass your state exams.


Submit to the state your application, licensing fee, and proof of insurance.