Obtain Your License

Pursuing a career in the HVAC field? Study at home for your Virginia HVAC license exam with our fully online, user-friendly, and self-paced course.

  • Virginia HVAC Exam Prep (Master / Journeyman)

    $219.99

    HVAC licensing in Virginia is at 3 levels: journeyman, master, and contractor. To become either a journeyman HVAC or a master HVAC , there are two examination portions that must be passed: statutory and regulatory portion and the trade portion. This license allows for individual to do work for heating systems, boilers, process piping, and mechanical refrigeration systems. @HomePrep is a National Leader in online education. With over 100,000 satisfied students and a course catalog of over 1,000 classes, we are here to help you – Invest in Yourself.

    View Product
  • Virginia HVAC Exam Prep (Master / Journeyman) Complete Package

    $720.95

    HVAC licensing in Virginia is at 3 levels: journeyman, master, and contractor. To become either a journeyman HVAC or a master HVAC , there are two examination portions that must be passed: statutory and regulatory portion and the trade portion. This license allows for individual to do work for heating systems, boilers, process piping, and mechanical refrigeration systems. @HomePrep is a National Leader in online education. With over 100,000 satisfied students and a course catalog of over 1,000 classes, we are here to help you – Invest in Yourself.

    View Product

Requirements To Get Your HVAC License In Virginia

About This License

A Virginia HVAC license is a professional accreditation issued by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation. It signifies that an HVAC technician has met the necessary educational and experience requirements to provide HVAC services within the state. There are two main types of licenses in Virginia: Journeyman and Master.

These licenses allow contractors to perform various mechanical work, including the installation, repair, maintenance, and/or alteration of heating systems, boilers, process piping, and mechanical refrigeration systems, including tanks incidental to the system.

Why You Need a Virginia HVAC License?

Operating without a Virginia HVAC license isn’t just risky—it’s illegal. Having this license not only complies with state laws but also enhances your credibility among clients. It’s proof that you possess the knowledge and skills to deliver high-quality HVAC services. Moreover, it opens doors to more job opportunities and potentially higher pay.

Requirements to Obtaining Your License

HVAC licensing in Virginia is at 3 levels: journeymanmaster, and contractor. To become either a journeyman HVAC or a master HVAC , there are two examination portions that must be passed: statutory and regulatory portion and the trade portion.

  • Pre-approval from the state is required to sit for the examination.
  • To sit for the trade examinations, a candidate must document that they have met one of the following experience requirements. Individuals who hold a currently valid license or certification from another state as a journeyman or master tradesman may sit for the same level examination by providing a copy of that license or certification card.

Eligibility Criteria

To qualify for a Virginia HVAC license, you need to fulfill certain education and experience requirements. These include completing an approved HVAC training program and gaining relevant work experience—3 years for a Journeyman license and 1 year for a Master license.

Journeyman license:

  • Two years of practical experience in the trade and a degree or certification showing the completion of a two year program from either a trade or technical school, or a community college; or
  • Four years of practical experience in the trade and 240 hours of formal vocational training in the trade; or
  • Five years of practical experience in the trade and 160 hours of formal vocational training in the trade; or
  • Six years of practical experience in the trade and 80 hours of formal vocational training in the trade; or
  • A bachelor’s degree received from an accredited college or university in an engineering curriculum related to the trade and 1 year of practical experience in the trade; or
  • Ten years of practical experience in the trade, verified by an affidavit from those who observed the candidate’s work in the trade

Master license:

  • One year of practical experience as a licensed Virginia journeyman; or
  • Ten years of practical experience in the trade, verified by an affidavit from those who observed the candidate’s work in the trade.

Applying For Your License

Applications for licensure can be obtained from the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation State Board for Contractors by calling 1-804-367-8511.

You are required to submit your application to the Board prior to taking the examination. Applications can be downloaded by Clicking Here.

Exam Details

  • 85 questions and an 210 min time limit (journeyman and master)
  • 60% is required to pass (journeyman), 64% is required to pass (master)
  • Topics the examinations include warm air heating; ventilation systems; air conditioning systems; duct systems; chimneys, flues, and vents; boilers; hot water piping; combustion air; controls/low voltage; fuel oil piping and storage; insulation; commercial kitchen venting; refrigerants; refrigerant piping; chilled and condenser water piping; and firestopping/penetration inspection; standards of practice; standards of conduct; renewal and reinstatement; definitions; qualification for licensure; and revocation of licensure.
  • The fee for the journeyman portion is $100 while the master portion has a fee of $125.
  • To schedule your exam, contact PSI at 1-800-733-9267.

Books and References for the Exam

The following references are permitted to be taken into the examination. These references may be tabbed (with a permanent index tab) and highlighted. You can purchases the references from our online bookstore or by calling 1-800-952-0910.

Regulatory Reference for all Virginia Tradesman Examinations:

Exam Review Education

We offer review for the Virginia Master and Journeyman HVAC examinations in an online training format. The fee for the course is $219.99. The course includes sample figures, questions, math and calculations, as well as a highlighting guide for the approved references. For more information, or to order, contact our office at 1-800-952-0910.

Examination Process

After your application is approved, you’ll be required to pass an examination. This exam tests your understanding of HVAC practices and Virginia state laws. To ensure success, consider taking advantage of available study guides and prep courses.

Continuing Education

Remember, your Virginia HVAC license isn’t valid forever. You’ll need to renew it every two years, which includes paying a renewal fee. Failure to renew on time can result in penalties and even suspension of your license.

Three hours of CEU are required to be completed every two years. We offer this online.

Reciprocity Agreement

As of this time, there is no reciprocal licensing.

Start Today

Getting your Virginia HVAC license is a significant step in your HVAC career. Not only does it validate your skills and knowledge, but it also sets you apart in this competitive field. Start your journey towards licensure today and unlock a world of opportunities in the HVAC industry in Virginia.

Contact Us

Need more information? Feel free to get in touch with us. Our team is always ready to assist you in your journey towards getting your Virginia HVAC license.

How It Works

1

Obtain pre-approval from the state (if applicable).

2

Purchase Exam Prep materials.

3

Schedule and pass your state exams.

4

Submit to the state your application, licensing fee, and proof of insurance.