Obtain Your License

Pursuing a career in the HVAC field? Study at home for your Georgia HVAC license exam with our fully online, user-friendly, and self-paced course.

 

  • Georgia Conditioned Air Contractor (Class I and II)

    $199.99

    All Conditioned Air work in Georgia requires a license and pre-approval from the state is required to sit for the examination. Class 1 applicants must show 4 years of experience. Experience for Class I shall consist of two years of installation as a lead mechanic, one year as a service technician or service supervisor (to include an Environmental Protection Agency license), one year of residential supervisory experience, and a Board approved heat loss and gain and duct design. Class 2 applicants must show five years of experience. Applicants for Class II (non-r…

    View Product

Requirements To Complete

About This License

Conditioned Air Contractor license allow for the bidding and contracting as well as the installation, repair, or service of conditioned air systems or conditioned air equipment. Service to or installation of the electrical connection between the electrical disconnects and conditioned air equipment is considered to be installation, repair, or service of conditioned air equipment or the conditioned air system.

  • Class I conditioned air contractor licenses are restricted to conditioned air contracting involving conditioned air systems or equipment not exceeding 175,000 BTU of heating and 60,000 BTU of cooling.
  • Class II licenses are unrestricted.

Requirements to Obtaining Your License

All Conditioned Air work in Georgia requires a license.

  • Pre-approval from the state is required to sit for the examination.
  • A separate Georgia Business and Law exam is not required to be passed (Business and Law questions are on the trade exam).
  • Class 1 applicants must show 4 years of experience. Experience for Class I shall consist of two years of installation as a lead mechanic, one year as a service technician or service supervisor (to include an Environmental Protection Agency license), one year of residential supervisory experience, and a Board approved heat loss and gain and duct design.
  • Class 2 applicants must show five years of experience. Applicants for Class II (non-restricted) license must show at least five (5) years of experience installing systems exceeding 175,000 BTU of heating and 5 tons of cooling. Experience for Class II shall consist of two years of installation as a lead mechanic with at least one of the years being commercial only, one year as a service technician or service supervisor (to include an Environmental Protection Agency license), two years of commercial supervisory experience and a Board approved heat loss and gain and duct design course.

Steps to Licensure:

  • Submit a completed application and non-refundable fee with documentation of the required experience and other qualifications and reference information
  • Submit a completed examination scheduling form with fee
  • Pass the examination

Applying For Your License

To apply, contact the state of Georgia at 1-478-207-2440. A non refundable fee of $30.00 must be submitted with application. The application must be submitted to the Board at least 60 days before the next scheduled exam date. Applicants should receive an approval letter approximately 30 days prior to the exam. After the exam, passing candidates will receive their licenses in approximately six weeks.

Exam Details

  • A 70% is required to pass.
  • 140 questions.
  • The fee for the exam is $267.
  • You will have a total of 7 hours to complete both parts of the Conditioned Air Contractors (Class I and Class II) licensure exams. The exam is administered in two parts. You will have three and a half (3.5) hours to complete Part I, followed by a break. You will also have three and a half (3.5) hours to complete Part 2. This limit includes time for the 20 pre-test questions.
  • Topics on the exam include laws, system design, installation, gas piping, refrigerant piping, electrical control systems, maintainence and repair.
  • To schedule your exam, you must first obtain pre-approval from the Georgia Secretary of State. Then, contact AMP at 1-800-733-9267.

Books and References for the Exam

The following references can be taken into the Georgia Conditioned Air Contractor (Class I and II) examination. These references are available for purchase from our online contractors' bookstore.

  • 2018 International Gas Code (with Georgia Amendments to the IFGC - print online free)
  • 2018 International Mechanical Code (with Georgia Amendments to the IMC - print online free)
  • 2017 National Electrical Code
  • 2015 International Energy Conservation Code
  • Manual D-Duct Design for Residential Winter and Summer Air Conditioning
  • Manual J-Load Calculation for Residential Winter and Summer Air Conditioning
  • Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technology
  • Contractors Guide to Business, Law, and Project Management - Georgia Construction Industry Licensing Board, 4th edition
  • OSHA Code of Federal Regulations Title 29, Part 1926
  • Carrier System Design Manuals (1-3)
  • Flexible Duct Performance and Installation Standards
  • Trane Ductulator
  • ACCA Flexible Duct Slide Rule or Calculator

The Class II (Unrestricted) examination uses all of the above references, as well as:

  • Low Pressure Boilers

The following books are not allowed in:

  • Manual N
  • Manual Q

Exam Review Education

Online Training: The program takes you through each one of the reference books that the exam is based on showing you exactly what to highlight. After your highlighting is completed with each book, you have the option take an online practice test to reinforce concepts presented. Also, there is an extensive math and plans analysis portion. The program narrated and animated.

Continuing Education

4 hours per year are required. We have offer this online.

Reciprocity Agreement

Currently in agreement with South Carolina and Texas.

How It Works

1

Obtain pre-approval from the state (if applicable).

2

Purchase Exam Prep materials.

3

Schedule and pass your state exams.

4

Submit to the state your application, licensing fee, and proof of insurance.