Obtain Your License
Pursuing a career in the Electrical field? Study at home for your Oklahoma Electrical license exam with our fully online, user-friendly, and self-paced course.
Oklahoma Residential Electrical License (Contractor, Journeyman)$219.99
RESIDENTIAL ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR LICENSE REQUIREMENTS: 8,000 Hours total of 4,000 hours as a residential or unlimited journeyman electrician under the employment and supervision of an electrical contractor and 4,000 hours as an apprentice OR 3,000 hours as an apprentice and 1,000 hours may be satisfied by formal electrical related education. RESIDENTIAL ELECTRICAL JOURNEYMAN REQUIREMENTS: 4,000 hours experience as an apprentice. Our electrical practice includes over 400 real NEC questions. Each time you take the practice test, the questions are randomly genera…
Requirements To Complete
About This License
Residential electrical licenses are limited to wiring buildings as defined in the NEC for one and two families.
A journeyman works under the direct supervision of a contractor.
Requirements to Obtaining Your License
RESIDENTIAL ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
- 8,000 Hours total of 4,000 hours as a residential or unlimited journeyman electrician under the employment and supervision of an electrical contractor
- 4,000 hours as an apprentice OR
- 3,000 hours as an apprentice and 1,000 hours may be satisfied by formal electrical related education
- Passed the residential or unlimited journeyman electrical examination
- Each active electrical contractor must furnish a $5,000 surety bond.
- Workers compensation and $50,000 liability insurance are also required.
- To become a licensed contractor, the business and law exam must also be passed.
RESIDENTIAL ELECTRICAL JOURNEYMAN REQUIREMENTS
- 4,000 hours experience as an apprentice
- 2,000 hours may be satisfied by formal electrical related education
- 2,000 hours maximum may be satisfied by: verified electrical maintenance OR verified military electrical installations
Each journeyman must be licensed and employed by a licensed contractor before engaging in work.
Applying For Your License
An application for licensure can be obtained from the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board calling 1-405-271-5217.
Application and License Fees
- Electrical Contractor $225.00 (License $200.00 / Processing $25.00)
- Electrical Journeyman (Reciprocal or otherwise) $75.00 (License $50.00 / Processing $25.00)
- Electrical Contractor by Reciprocity - $300
Licenses are good for 1 year.
- The testing company is PSI (1-800-733-9267)
- The exam has 80 questions and a time limit of 210 minutes
- A score of 75% is needed to pass.
- The exam fee is $88. If you are sitting for the trade exam and the business law exam in the same session, the fee for both parts combined is $88.
- Topics on the exam include general knowledge and electrical installation requirements; feeders, and branch circuits; overcurrent protection; grounding and bonding; conductors and cables; raceways and boxes; hazardous locations, special occupancies, and special equipment; low voltage, alarms, signaling systems, and communications; lighting, signs and general use equipment; and safety.
- To schedule an examination, contact PSI Examination services at 1-800-733-9267.
Books and References for the Exam
The following references are permitted to be taken into the examination. These references may be tabbed (with a permanent index tab) and highlighted. They are available for purchase from our online contractor’s bookstore or by calling our office at 1-800-952-0910.
- 2014 National Electrical Code (NFPA 70)
- OSHA Code of Federal Regulations Part 1926
- Ugly’s Electrical References
Exam Review Education
We currently offer the Oklahoma Electrical Review in an online practice test format. Our electrical practice includes over 400 real NEC questions. Each time you take the practice test, the questions are randomly generated from our database. Therefore, you will never see the same test twice, guaranteeing you the best review possible for your examination.
6 hours of continuing education are required within 1 year after the state adopts a newer code. We offer this online.
Limited reciprocity exists with Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.