Obtain Your License

Pursuing a career in the Construction field? Study at home for your North Carolina Construction license exam with our fully online, user-friendly, and self-paced course.

  • North Carolina Concrete (S) Contractor License

    $219.99

    Anyone seeking to be licensed as a concrete contractor in North Carolina shall file an application for an examination on a form provided by the Board, at least 30 days before any regular or special meeting of the Board. Applicants must submit a completed application to get pre-approval from the State Licensing Board to take the exam. The program takes you through each one of the reference books that the exam is based on showing you exactly what to highlight. After your highlighting is completed with each book, you have the option take an online practice test to…

    View Product

Requirements To Complete

About This License

Concrete Contractor classification covers the construction and installation of foundations, pre-cast silos and other concrete tanks or receptacles, prestressed components, and gunite applications, but excludes bridges, streets, side-walks, curbs, gutters, driveways, parking lots, and highways.

This license is divided into three types: LimitedIntermediate, and Unlimited.

  • The Limited License has a financial limit per project of up to $500,000. In order to qualify, the applicant must be financially stable and show that they exceed their total liabilities by $17,000.
  • The Intermediate License has a financial limit of up to $1,000,000 per project. In order to qualify, the applicant must be financially stable and show that they exceed their total liabilities by $75,000.
  • The Unlimited License is not restricted to the value of the project. In order to qualify the applicant must be financially stable and show that they exceed their total liabilities by $150,000.

Requirements to Obtaining Your License

  • Anyone seeking to be licensed as a concrete contractor in North Carolina shall file an application for an examination on a form provided by the Board, at least 30 days before any regular or special meeting of the Board.
  • Applicants must submit a completed application to get pre-approval from the State Licensing Board to take the exam.
  • There is no minimum experience requirement. Applicants must submit 3 references.
  • A separate North Carolina Business and Law exam is NOT required.

Applying For Your License

To apply, contact State of North Carolina Licensing Board 1-919-571-4183. Application fee is $75 for Limited, $100 for Intermediate $100, and $125 for Unlimited.

Exam Details

  • Exam fee of $70.
  • The exam has 50 questions and a time limit of 120 minutes.
  • 70% is required to pass.
  • The examination is open book.
  • Pre-approval from the Board is required before taking the exam.
  • To schedule your exam, contact PSI at 1-800-733-9267.

Books and References for the Exam

  • North Carolina OSHA
  • North Carolina Building Code
  • North Carolina State Administration and Enforcements Code
  • ACI 318-14 - Building Code Requirements for Structural Concrete and Commentary

The examination also pulls questions from the following references. However, these references are NOT permitted to be taken into the exam. Please note that these references are also available from our online bookstore or by contacting our office toll free at 1-800-952-0910.

Exam Review Education

We offer review for the North Carolina Concrete Contractor exam in an online course format. The program takes you through each one of the reference books that the exam is based on showing you exactly what to highlight. After your highlighting is completed with each book, you have the option take an online practice test to reinforce concepts presented. Also, there is an extensive math and plans analysis portion. For more information, or to order, contact our office at 1-800-952-0910.

Continuing Education

Not required at this time

Reciprocity Agreement

None

How It Works

1

Obtain pre-approval from the state (if applicable).

2

Purchase Exam Prep materials.

3

Schedule and pass your state exams.

4

Submit to the state your application, licensing fee, and proof of insurance.