Virginia Class A Contractor License FAQs

As business in Virginia grows, the opportunities for contractors do as well. Per state law, anyone performing or managing construction, improvements, repair or removal with a total value of a single project over $1,000 must obtain a license from Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR). Per the Virginia Board for Contractors, contractor licenses consist of two parts; the class of license and the classification or specialty regarding the type of work performed. The class determines if any restrictions are placed on the contracts/projects performed and the classification determines your specialty. There are three license classes: Class A, Class B, and Class C, based on the total value of the project(s). Here the most frequently asked questions about the Virginia Class A Contractor License:

What is the difference in classes of Virginia contractor licenses?

Virginia Class A Contractor License:
  • Required for any single contracts or projects worth $120,000 or more or a total of $750,000 in a 12-month period
  • Minimum net worth of $45,000
  • Minimum 5 years experience
  • Unlimited maximum size
  • Unlimited maximum annual revenue
  • Ability to demolish or deconstruct any building in addition to constructing
Virginia Class B Contractor License:
  • Required when the construction, repairs or improvement to a single project total $10,000 or more
  • Minimum net worth of $15,000
  • Minimum 3 years experience
  • Maximum project size is less than $120,000
  • Maximum annual revenue is less than $750,000
Virginia Class C Contractor License:
  • Repairs, improvements or construction of a project worth more than $1,000 but less than $10,000
  • No minimum net worth requirement.
  • Minimum 2 years experience
  • Maximum project size is less than $10,000
  • Maximum annual revenue is less than $150,000

    What is the Virginia Class A Contractor License Process?

    The DPOR lists the steps to getting your contractor license. Below is an abridged outline, but you can view the full list of detailed steps here.
        1. Create a business entity. Before applying for your application, name your business and make sure to register your business with the state of Virginia here.
        2.  Decide which license you need (A,B, or C as listed previously).
        3. Take a  mandatory 8-Hour pre-license course (required for all license types)
        4. Pass the required exams
        5. Complete your application and submit to the Board with the appropriate fee

    What is the cost for the Virginia Class A Contractor License?

    The cost for a Class A Contractor License is $385.

    How long does it take to be licensed?

    The average processing time for most applications in approximately 30 days, but can be more or less depending on a broad range of factors.

    How often does a Virginia Contractor License need to be renewed?

    The license needs to be renewed every two years. There is no additional exam required, just the renewal fee.

    Is there Continuing Education once licensed?

    While there are no CE requirements for the general contracting specialties in Virginia, there may be for trade-related specialties. Contact DPOR to confirm whether your specialty requires continuing education or not. Ready to start your career as a contractor in Virginia? As a national Leader in online education, with over 100,000 satisfied students @HomePrep is here to help you – Invest in Yourself.