Virginia Class C Contractors License FAQs

Contractors in Virginia need to be licensed to maximize opportunities, and avoid leaving money on the table. Virginia state law requires anyone performing or managing construction, improvements, repair or removal with a total value of a single project over $1,000 to obtain a license from Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR). This not only gives you credibility, but provides higher earning potential. Per the Virginia Board for Contractors, the contractor licenses consist of two parts; the class of license and the classification or specialty regarding the type of work performed. The class determines if any restrictions are placed on the contracts/projects performed and the classification determines your specialty. There are three license classes: Class A, Class B, and Class C, and the class is based on the total value of the project(s). Here the most frequently asked questions about the Virginia Class C Contractor License:

What is the difference in classes of Virginia contractor licenses?

Virginia Class A Contractor License:

  • Required for any single contracts or projects worth $120,000 or more or a total of $750,000 in a 12-month period
  • Minimum net worth of $45,000
  • Minimum 5 years experience
  • Unlimited maximum size
  • Unlimited maximum annual revenue
  • Ability to demolish or deconstruct any building in addition to constructing

Virginia Class B Contractor License:

  • Required when the construction, repairs or improvement to a single project total $10,000 or more
  • Minimum net worth of $15,000
  • Minimum 3 years experience
  • Maximum project size is less than $120,000
  • Maximum annual revenue is less than $750,000

Virginia Class C Contractor License:

  • Repairs, improvements or construction of a project worth more than $1,000 but less than $10,000
  • No minimum net worth requirement.
  • Minimum 2 years experience
  • Maximum project size is less than $10,000.
  • Maximum annual revenue is less than $150,000

What is the Virginia Class C Contractor License Process?

Below is an abridged outline of the DPOR steps to getting your Class C License, or you can view the complete list of detailed steps here.
  1. Create a business entity. Before applying for your application, name your business and make sure to register your business with the state of Virginia here.
  2. Decide which license you need (A,B, or C as listed previously).
  3. Take a mandatory 8-Hour pre-license course (required for all license types)
  4. Pass the required exams
  5. Complete your application and submit to the Board with the appropriate fee

What is the cost for the Virginia Class C Contractor License?

A Class B Contractor License fee is $235.

How long does it take to be licensed?

30 days is the approximate processing time for most applications; however it can be more or less depending on various factors.

How often does a Virginia Contractor License need to be renewed?

All Virginia Contractor licenses need to be renewed every two years. No additional exam is required, but there is a renewal fee.

Is there Continuing Education once licensed?

There are no state CE requirements for the general contracting specialties in Virginia. However, there may be trade-related specialties that involve CEUs. You will need to confirm with DPOR about your specialty requirements. Is it time to to start your career as a Virginia contractor? @HomePrep is a national Leader in online education with over 100,000 satisfied students and we are here to help you – Invest in Yourself.